Photo

Planning for Otakon 2013 'Alone'

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
23 replies to this topic

#1 Pardalis

Pardalis

Fresh Meat

• Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 12:57 AM

This was my first Otakon and as much as I loved it, I missed the only signing I wanted to go to plus half a dozen photo shoots, panels and the final day of the con due to the overly sexual Mr. and Mrs. Derp my other half, my friend and I traveled with. Though the were a friend of a friend and we were lucky they had the space and car but... I don't want to take this trip again with them. I know it's insanely early but this is trip planning I have never done before and I like to have details before hand. We have only gone to a local SciFi con and NYCC, one year a family member actually booked us a room and took PT I take to visit the, second we took PT back and forth each day the shedualling was quite annoying as the later trains were an hour at least apart.

Obviously the first would be hotel, none of us are of age to rent a car or have one big enough so we want to get a place close to the center, which is the best for those with a budget BUT within walking distance? At most there would be 6 of us but at least 4. My main cosplay is a bulky partial fursuit that is a bother to have to carry and I get nervous taking public transport in an area I don't know.

Next transportation. We are coming from Long Island and most would require us to go to NYC first which is fine, but my question is about the Bolt Bus, I know for Anthrocon there is a 1$ ride option, does that ever become available for Otakon? Does it require a large group? And where is the Marc Penn Station in relation to the center? would there be a way to get there once we arrive? What are other alternatives that have been used?

Thanks for any and all info guys! If this isn't the right place to put this let me know!

Otakon year four in 2015

Find me as: